GAMES! from E3 2016

GAMES!.png

Last week, I took a rambling look at the E3 presentations from some of the biggest companies in gaming (and Ubisoft). This week, I take a rambling look at 19 games shown in some capacity at E3 and softly whine that they’re not already available. Yes, Mr. Petty, waiting is truly the hardest part.

For the record, I was not at E3, have never been to E3, and probably won’t be fortunate enough to visit E3. I’m just going off the same trailers, presentations, and interviews, like everyone else is.

GAMES!2.png

The games that threaten to turn me into a recluse who refuses to leave his house.

10. BoxBoxBoy!
Nintendo 3DS:
June 30, 2016

The original Box Boy is an underappreciated gem by HAL Laboratory, the company behind Kirby and early Smash Bros. games, so I’m happy that we’re getting a sequel. Granted, Box Boy did have the frustrating tendency to make me feel like an idiot, and I did resort to hints on occasion (and even watched a YouTube video on one particularly vexing puzzle), but that’s okay.


09. We Happy Few
Xbox One, PC, Mac, Linux:
July 26, 2016

We Happy Few made this list entirely on the video shown during Microsoft’s presentation, which features a group downing happy pills called “Joy” and apparently censoring newspaper articles, than the demo that has the player wandering through a mostly destroyed England town while disturbed NPCs mutter the same two or three lines of dialogue ad nauseam. The Nineteen Eighty-Four vibes from that first video makes me excited, especially if a warping reality based on “Joy” levels play a role.


08. Watch Dogs 2
PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC:
November 16, 2016

The original Watch Dogs was a decent open-world adventure that squandered the hacking abilities and forced the player through a frustrating story with an unlikable character. The sequel aims to make good on the promise of hacking while taking the player into San Francisco, and I enjoyed the first game just enough to be looking forward to Watch Dogs 2.


07. The Walking Dead: Season Three
TBA:
2016

The end of Season Two left me unwilling to jump back into the zombie infested world of The Walking Dead anytime soon, but I’m still going to drag my body back for more when Season Three hits sometime this year. We don’t know much — the short teaser revealed that Clementine returns, now a teenager still sporting her old hat — but developer Telltale’s had a bit of time to come up with new ways to torture a new cast of survivors and me.


06. Gravity Rush 2
PlayStation 4:
2016

I own Gravity Rush on Vita, but I’ve played probably only 30 minutes. I liked what I played — the gravity mechanic is fun — but I just never returned to it, another victim of my ever-growing backlog of games. Gravity Rush 2 also looks fun in much the same way that the original did, except the visuals gained a pleasant upgrade thanks to the PS4’s increased horsepower. Hopefully I don’t play 30 minutes of this sequel and stop, too.


05. Shantae: Half-Genie Hero
PlayStation 4, PS3, PS Vita, Xbox One, XB360, Wii U, PC:
September 27, 2016

We finally got a release date — September 27. We also got more footage of the adorable Shantae jumping, dancing, and transforming into different animal forms in gorgeous side-scrolling levels. This game is too adorable to hate. Hopefully it plays just as well.


04. Dishonored 2
PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC:
November 11, 2016

I own the original, but haven’t played a second of it. Dishonored 2 might change that. What Bethesda showed at their E3 presentation not only made me excited for the upcoming sequel (I pre-ordered the special edition immediately. I’m that weak), but created a desire to toss the first Dishonored into my Xbox 360. It reminded me so much of Bioshock, except in a fantasy world that I want to visit.


03. Pokémon Sun and Moon
Nintendo 3DS:
November 18, 2016

I’m on a bit of a Pokémon kick right now, so I can’t wait for the newest sequels to Nintendo’s cash-cow RPG series. This is the series at it’s most visually impressive with humans featuring more realistic proportions and a Hawaii-inspired landscape. Hopefully the battles won’t be full of slowdown, like X/Y and Omega Ruby/Alpha Sapphire had. It was never enough to ruin anything, but boy bobby was it ever distracting.


02. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
Wii U, NX:
2017

What excites me most about the new Zelda isn’t that it’s apparently a massive open-world, but Nintendo’s desire to break the conventions of the series. Although most Zelda games add in aspects to change things up — sailing, Wolf Link, motion-controlled sword combat — it clung too tightly to other things while making each adventure hold your hand a little more than the one before.

Willingly changing Zelda conventions will hopefully put the series onto a new, more exciting track, and if that requires lifting a few features from other franchises and seeing what sticks, I’m okay with that. It’s better than making a Skyward Sword 2.


01. Persona 5
PlayStation 4, PS3:
February 14, 2017

Persona 4 Golden is the only JRPG in years that latched onto me so tightly and refused to let go. The battle system was entertaining enough, but it’s the awesome cast that kept me coming back. Will I learn more about Naoto if we hang out again? And what’s going on with Teddie? Oh, Yukiko and my character are dating. That’s awesome.

We can’t say if Persona 5 will live up to its predecessor, but I’m willing to give Atlus the benefit of the doubt from the footage they’ve shown. The “Phantom Thieves” angle is exciting, and the theme of finding freedom from life’s restrictions speaks to me. Furthermore, the the design of the dungeons appears to make them more unique than the corridors that populated Persona 4, although we don’t know if that extends to every dungeon or just the one I’ve seen most.

I’m not thrilled at waiting until 2017, but I’ll manage if Atlus needs the time to make Persona 5 the best game than it can be.


GAMES!3

The games that could theoretically turn me into a recluse, but still haven’t convinced me to quit my job and survive on pizza deliveries.

Death Stranding

We caught a glimpse at the next game by famed creator Hideo Kojima during Sony’s presentation, but… did we catch a glimpse or just a tease at what might come next from the creator of Metal Gear? That video, showcasing a naked man in a desolate beach surrounded by death, yet holding onto an infant for a moment, is so abstract in meaning that it’s impossible to ascertain anything that points to what the actual game might be.

That being said, Kojima creates incredible games. I’m excited to see what he comes up with now once again free from the shackles of Metal Gear.


Final Fantasy XV

Final Fantasy XV is still too much of a mystery to determine whether it’ll be worth our time. This E3’s demos failed to impress (especially the VR one, which looked downright horrible), and the game’s been in development for so long. I want to believe that we’re going to gain an enjoyable RPG, but Square Enix has yet to prove that.


God of War

I don’t like God of War. The rampant violence and blood, along with situations where Kratos has sex with women, left the series feeling rather one-dimensional, while the combat just didn’t appeal to me. God of War, the PS4 game that began Sony’s E3 presentation, appears to be a vastly different game that pulls the camera closer, is confident enough to have Kratos travel through stunning environments without filling it with combat, and introduces a young son.

We discover quickly that Kratos is not a compassionate father as he orders and yells at his son repeatedly, but we also see the man reach a hesitant hand towards the boy during the final moments of the demo. Offering a story about this father and son is more interesting to me than anything the series has done before, and while I can’t say the final product will be something that excites me, they at least have my attention.


Horizon: Zero Dawn

Thank goodness that Guerrilla Games stepped away from the boring science-fiction military setting that’s backdrop for their Killzone series and embraced a world heavy on nature and robotic dinosaurs. Well, I like that over more Killzone. I’m not entirely convinced that Horizon is going to be amazing, but everything that I’m seeing are steps into the right directions. The third-person gameplay looks fast and entertaining, and the story has the makings of something at least interesting.


Kingdom Hearts HD 2.8 Final Chapter Prologue

Kingdom Hearts is one of those franchises I mean jump into, but lack of time and hardware failings have kept me from fully submerging myself. The demo, featuring Aqua from Birth by Sleep, doesn’t look too different from past games, but it feels like we’re finally heading towards something big in Kingdom Hearts 3. Hopefully Aqua is part of that party in a decent capacity because I like her more than Sora.


The Last Guardian

I wasn’t excited for The Last Guardian last E3. I mean, I was curious because it’s prolonged development and regular cancellation rumors are infamous, but I didn’t care about actually playing it. I’m not sure what’s different, but this E3’s trailer caught my attention. The other “last” guardian, perhaps?


Mass Effect: Andromeda

We didn’t get the big coming out party for Andromeda that I hoped for, but I’m still excited to explore a brand new galaxy and befriend a new squad composed of both recognizable and unfamiliar alien species. Of course, the lack of details suggests that we’re still a ways off from that.


Resident Evil 7: Biohazard

Resident Evil 7 doesn’t look or feel like a Resident Evil game is a statement I’ve heard several times after the reveal. It’s undoubtedly meant as a negative, that the series is heading into an unrecognizable direction, but I take that as a positive. Chasing after a larger crowd, Resident Evil has gone increasingly off the rails towards being a straight shooter. Meanwhile, the characters… The entire fiction needs grounding, and the demo for RE7 seems to offer something at least closer to that.

Naturally, we don’t know how the final game will turn out, but I view the series as a joke that needed changing. I don’t know if I’ll buy the finished thing (unfortunately, I couldn’t play the demo because I don’t have PS+), but I’m interesting in Resident Evil for the first time since RE4.


World of Final Fantasy

I can’t say what World of Final Fantasy actually is, but it’s winning me over by tossing in a bunch of recognizable Final Fantasy characters in a deformed “chibi” form. Come on, pint-sized Cloud swinging around his iconic Buster Sword (or whatever it’s called) is pretty damn adorable. And apparently the two leads are able to switch between more realistic proportions and “chibi” form at will? Okay, I’m down with that.

2 thoughts on “GAMES! from E3 2016

  1. Pingback: GAMES! from E3 2017 | namevah

  2. Pingback: What’cha Been Playin’? October 2016 | namevah

Leave a Reply...

